Sketchbook Pro for iPad Review

For many iPad users with a bit of creativity, they will have considered purchasing a painting app. The choice usually comes down to Brushes or Sketchbook Pro. I decided to go for Sketchbook Pro.

iPad Screenshot 1Sketchbook Pro has been described by some as not as intuitive as Brushes, but I can’t grasp this, Sketchbook Pro was incredibly easy to use and I am a complete novice in this area. You start with a brief tutorial and within seconds you can start painting. There are a vast array of tools to choose from, many are professional, some are rather gimmicky but for those just wanting to doodle these can be very fun. Sketchbook Pro can be enjoyed by any skill level, but obviously some artistic flair will help you. But this app is always enjoyable and really will cater to any user and allow itself to be morphed into what the user requires.

For my first image, I decided to create a replica of a photo I took in Iceland a few years ago. I was able to use a certain brush for the grass and subtle airbrushes for clouds, something you couldn’t do painting alone. The result isn’t too bad for a first attempt.

My main gripe with the app (which I discovered whilst creating my second piece) is that it can become annoying when you want to find the perfect colour and therefore have to navigate the menu again and again. It is simple enough to do, but is not the most efficient method.

The last piece I created is a logo for the site. The iPad frame and the 30 Pin Connector were all created using Sketchbook Pro with relative ease. I then exported the two images via email, a little work using Pages and voilà! The iPad’s background is what I use on my iPad currently. It is an actual painting my brother (who is a much better artist than I am) did. If you like it, more of his work is viewable here.

So there you have it, my feeble attempts to paint a masterpiece. But as you can see, even someone with as little ability as myself can create something. For the Pros, I imagine they could create truly magnificent pieces. For the amateurs, a very enjoyable experience with an app that is thankfully merciful! The app is available here for $7.99 or £4.99.

Leave a Reply

